Day 12 Slice of Life Story Challenge: Stinky Blanket

Twinkle twinkle, little star

How I wonder what you are

Up above the world so high

Like a diamond in the sky

Twinkle twinkle, little star

How I wonder what you are.

 

“Goodnight sweat pea,” I whispered in Lily’s ear, as I have done every night since the day she was born.

“Good night Mommy,” Lily sighed happily and wrapped her arms around me and hugged me close. “I love you so much Mama.”

My heart melted. Such a sweet moment. I lay snuggled up next to her for a moment as she began to drift off to sleep.

Lily snuggled up close to her blankie. Her ‘Owl Blanket’ is what she calls it (because it has owls on it). She perked up suddenly. “Mama! Smell this!”

Before I could turn away, Owl Blanket was under my nose.

“Doesn’t it smell great!”

Ick! No! Gross! The opposite of great! When was the last time we washed that thing? I held my tongue and winced silently.

“See mama! Owl Blanket is not all stinky. Some parts of him smell GREAT,” she said decidedly.

“Sure!” I said convincingly. “Yeah! Well, goodnight sweetheart. I love you.”

“Good night Mommy. I’m glad you like the way Owl Blanket smells.”

“Goodnight honey. I love you. Sleep tight.”

I slipped out of Lily’s bedroom thinking about how how sweet and how funny… and how stinky life can be. Sometimes all three at once.

sliceoflife

4 thoughts on “Day 12 Slice of Life Story Challenge: Stinky Blanket

  1. I have a feeling owl blanket is going to be thrown in the wash next week after Lily has forgotten about your conversation!

    It’s funny what our kids like, isn’t it? Isabelle sleeps with a blanket that is literally shredded in two places (thanks to her pulling it when she was two). But she LOVES that blanket. She doesn’t want to sleep with anything else, even in the dead of winter!

    Like

Leave a Reply

