April 21 Slice of Life Story Challenge: Running into Nana and Grandpa at Trader Joe’s

As I rounded the corner and headed into the crackers aisle, Jackson pointed with his chubby finger and delightedly shouted, “Da! Da!”

I looked up to see what he was pointing at, and it was my grandpa!

Surprise! Hugs! And then Grandpa quickly needed me to know that that the frozen orange mandarin chicken was THE thing to get. So I got some. And then I followed him around the store to go and find Nana.

“Jane! Look who I found!” Grandpa announced happily in the dried fruits section.

More surprise! More hugs! Lots of “Da! Da!” from Jackson.

Nana told the story about how she used to always shop at Trader Joe’s whenever she was visiting my aunt, in California, and how she’d always bring back some dried fruit with her in her suitcase, because she couldn’t get it back here in Vermont.

We said our goodbyes. More hugs. Promises to have lunch soon. Jackson waved bye-bye.

As I waited in the checkout line I thought to myself that this was the whole reason to move back home–running into Nana and Grandpa at the grocery store.

sliceoflife

5 thoughts on “April 21 Slice of Life Story Challenge: Running into Nana and Grandpa at Trader Joe’s

  1. That is a great reason to live closer to family. How much fun is that!??! (Last week I ran into my cousins at Hersheypark, but that is not an everyday kind of place so I am unsure if that counts.)

    Like

Leave a Reply

