Day 25: Goo Goo Ga Ga

Both of my children love to make people laugh.

Lily was born with natural desire to make us laugh. As a baby she would “chair dance” in her high chair just to make us giggle. Now, as a kindergartener, she makes up jokes and puns constantly.

And Jackson, at two years old, is taking right after her. His newest “joke” is to say “Goo goo ga ga” loud and clear, as though it were a real word. He knows that it sounds funny to say it clearly. He likes to say it, as though announcing something very important, and than sits back and waits for the laughs to roll in.

Tonight, our family went out to eat at our favorite Chinese food restaurant with my in-laws.

In the midst of plates clattering, and food being passed around, Jackson called out “GOO GOO GA GA!”

Nobody heard him but me, but I smiled.

His eyes lit up and he leaned toward me. “Goo. Goo. Ga. Ga.” He punctuated each part. It was seriously adorable.

This time my father in-law noticed.

“This is Jackson’s little joke,” I explained. “He likes to use baby talk on purpose.” Then I remembered something from a few days ago.

“Jackson,” I asked. The table got quiet as everybody tuned in to see what he was going to say. “Jackson, can I say ‘Googie Ga Gee?'”

Jackson smiled. “No! It’s goo goo ga ga!” He stated very clearly in his squeaky little two-year-old voice.

The table erupted in laughter. Jackson’s funny bone grew two sizes bigger, I think, as he soaked in the response.

sliceoflife
Join us for the Slice of Life Story Challenge!
One thought on “Day 25: Goo Goo Ga Ga

Leave a Reply

