Slice of Life Story Challenge: Day 1

 

It’s raining today, on the first day of March. School is out for winter break this week, and my kids, seven and three years old, are happy not to go skiing or sledding for a change. I’ve given in, and right now they’re watching a pirate-themed cartoon show. Later, they’ll dig through the dress-up clothes for all the pirate stuff. They’re both big into pirates lately. They couldn’t be happier that it’s raining today.

But it shouldn’t be raining, in March, in Vermont. It should be snowing. There should be a blizzard, not a drizzle. We shouldn’t be watching cartoons. We should be packing up our ski stuff, loading up the car, getting ready to go.

But if this is my biggest problem today–the rain–then I am a very lucky person indeed. My kids are safe and well fed. They live in a beautiful place surrounded by fresh air and mountains. They are, and I am, privileged in many ways.

I find myself thinking about a Facebook post I saw yesterday. It began with a post to the effect of (I’m paraphrasing here), “Is it possible to be the queen of microaggressions against rich people?” There were many comments to follow, lots of them pretty funny and snarky–an entire conversation about accidentally offending middle-class coworkers with snarky comments about skiing and vacations on Martha’s Vineyard. Skiing in Vermont was specifically called out as being for 1%ers. The conversation was started by a young person I don’t know very well, an acquaintance who briefly worked as an intern in the same university office where I used to work. Her post was partly meant to be funny, but partly serious.

So now, each time I write about skiing (it’s a lot) I have this in the back of mind. That’s not a bad thing. It’s a welcome reminder. A reality check is good. It’s important to remember and appreciate that living in Vermont, and spending time doing things like skiing, are privileges.

 

sliceoflife
Join my  Two Writing Teachers coauthors and I for the March Slice of Life Story Challenge!

 

7 thoughts on “Slice of Life Story Challenge: Day 1

  1. A good reminder, indeed, Beth. Someone once tweeted (and I’m paraphrasing), “Everyday someone in the world is thinking they would give anything to have what you have.” I try to remember that when moments of “I-wish-things-were-different” creep in. Thanks for this post!

    Like

  2. It was raining lightly–one might say misting in the South Bronx today as well–nary a ski site in view. Attention to other is so crucial and as I read your post I thought about that. Privileges aren’t secured simply with money. Rather, it is being in proximity to those who help me to understand what my experience cannot convey that are most golden.

    Like

  3. When I went to college, one of my closest friends grew up without many of the “things” that I considered normal – skiing, family vacations, etc. It opened my eyes to so many situations. I am lucky to have her to expand my world.
    (I miss Vermont most of the year, but not during mud season! 🙂 )

    Like

Leave a Reply

