Day 4 SOLSC: Roadtrip

I’m writing this as my family and I travel home. It’s going to be a four hour trip from our friends’ house in New Paltz, NY. We’re an hour into it right now.

Jackson cried for the first forty-five minutes because he wanted me to put his boots on, but then didn’t want them on, over and over, until he finally ate a Fig Newton and fell asleep.

Lily’s been watching cartoons on the iPad this whole time, completely ignoring her brother’s meltdown, giggling from time to time at her show. I’m not proud of the fact that we let her start watching TV the instant we got to m the car, but it also seemed impossible and unnecessary to handle Jackson’s tantrum AND Lily begging for a show at the same time.

We’re on the interstate now, cruising along past rolling hills and farmland, and the sun is shining. The kids are happy and my husband I just split a candy bar.

Everything is going to be okay.

Join my Two Writing Teachers coauthors and I for the March Slice of Life Story Challenge this month!
8 thoughts on “Day 4 SOLSC: Roadtrip

  1. We LOVE New Paltz! Such a funky college town. We often make the four hour trip from Boston to go there and hike in the Mohonk Preserve “Gunks.” Happy and safe travels! Thank goodness for cartoons on the iPad! 🙂

    Like

  2. You just never know how a roadtrip will turn out! I only have 1 daughter (7) and every summer we road trip to Charleston, SC. When she was little, she would fall asleep no problem, and my husband and I would just drive along listening to music or chatting. Now that she’s older the constant “are we there yet?” drives me bananas and I quickly hand over the iPad – for my sanity. Save travels!

    Like

  3. Suddenly, my 7 year old has a constant request for “gas station food”. By this, I think he means candy, but I can’t be exactly sure and am too afraid to ask. Oh, road trips!! They have varied results.

    Like

Leave a Reply

