Day 20 SOLSC: Loose Tooth

Moonlight streamed in through the window. The shadows of the window sashes formed squares of light on the soft carpet.

The entire house was asleep. Me, my husband, my three-year-old son, my seven-year-old daughter, all snuggled deep in our soft bedcovers and quilts. Our little dog, Indie, slept curled up beside me.

“Mommy!”

I slowly became aware of a little voice calling me. Is that Jackson? Or Lily?

“Mommy!”

It was Lily. Unlike her little brother, she hardly ever awoke in the night. Slightly alarmed, I jumped up from my sleep and shuffled down the hallway.

I tiptoed into her bedroom and whispered, “What is it, hon?”

“My tooth is bothering me,” she cried. “I’m afraid I’m going to lose it at school and I don’t want to.” Tears streamed down her cheeks.

Oh boy. Not this again. I silently thought to myself. For every tooth my daughter had lost, there had been an accompanying anxiety attack about losing that tooth at school.

“Let me see it,” I said groggily. She wiggled one of her incisors. It was pretty loose, but not necessarily about to fall out.

“Everything is going to be okay,” I said gently.

“But if it falls out at school then everybody will know!” she cried.

I crawled into bed with Lily and hugged her. “Everything is going to be okay. If you don’t want your tooth to be a big deal, you can ask your teacher not to tell the whole class.”

“But she always tells the class. She has a chart!”

“I can write a note to your teacher to ask her not to tell the whole class.”

“But if I lose my tooth then I have to go to the new nurse and she might not have the little tooth boxes like Nurse Amy used to have!” Lily tearfully explained.

“That’s okay too. I can give you your own little container to keep in your pocket, so if your tooth falls out at school you don’t have to worry. You can just put it in your container. Just like that. You don’t even have to tell your teacher if you don’t want to,” I said.

After thirty minutes, Lily was finally able to calm her nerves and fall asleep again.

Only to be repeated in the morning, before drop off time.

sliceoflife
Join my coauthors and I at Two Writing Teachers for the March Slice of Life Story Challenge!

 

 

7 thoughts on “Day 20 SOLSC: Loose Tooth

  1. Poor thing. It’s a wonder how they build anxiety about something. I hope she did alright. My boys have yet to lose a tooth. I wonder how they will view it…Thanks for the insight.

    Like

  2. My daughter had an absolute hysterical fit the first time she lost her tooth because blood was involved. The second time she swallowed it and the third time the tooth fairy forgot to show up. 🙂 I liked your use of internal dialogue.

    Like

  3. I love how you captured the conversation between you. I kind of felt like I was right there with you. I hope the anxiety about losing the tooth at school has gone away. Hope it just falls out at home!

    Like

  4. Beth, I could so picture this whole scene. The voice in the night, the slow ascent to consciousness as you try to figure out who it is and what is being said. We know it well. Sorry to hear about her anxiety over the tooth! I must say, I am amazed at a mother’s ability to think of solutions to problems on the spot like that…give her her own container? Brilliant. Thanks for sharing this!

    Like

  5. I love your use of dialogue. We teach this to our kids, but I forget to use it. Nicely done.

    My daughter lost her tooth on Christmas Eve and was afraid that the Tooth Fairy and Santa would cross paths. Quite stressful for a 5 year-old. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

