Day 22 SOLSC: Writer’s Block

 

I have written and rewritten this post for tonight. Every time I get started I lose my steam and delete it and start all over. Truth is, I have a bit of writer’s block. So I’m doing what I always tell students. I’m just free writing.

My go-to strategy, when I am stuck, is to make lists. So here are some lists.

Favorite places:

  • Anywhere in the snow
  • The couch next to the fireplace
  • My garden
  • The top of the Appalachian Gap road
  • Also, the Notch Road
  • Hiking trails in general
  • The Essex Free Library
  • My old library in Brooklyn
  • The NYC Main Branch

Favorite foods

  • Burritos, specifically, black bean burritos w/extra cheese, rice, sour cream, guacamole on the inside, and salsa verde (the good kind)
  • Chicken Tikka Masala
  • Pad Thai
  • Fried rice
  • Barbecue Chicken Pizza
  • Figs
  • Cheese of all kinds
  • Lobster Rolls
  • IPAs – especially hoppy ones

Favorite things to do

  • play with my kids
  • alpine ski
  • write
  • read
  • go out to eat
  • shop
  • go to museums
  • hang out in bookstores or coffee shops
  • cross-country ski
  • hike
  • bike ride
  • binge-watch comedy shows

Lists I could make the next time I’m stuck for ideas:

  • first times
  • last times
  • only times
  • times I’ve been scared
  • times I’ve been hurt
  • pets I’ve had (there are a lot)
  • places I’ve lived
  • places I’ve traveled to
  • ski trails
  • favorite music
  • times I’ve been bullied
  • things that make me cry
  • things that make me laugh

That’s it for tonight. Maybe better luck tomorrow.

sliceoflife
Join my coauthors and I at Two Writing Teachers for the March Slice of Life Story Challenge!

 

 

2 thoughts on “Day 22 SOLSC: Writer’s Block

  1. What a great idea for when writer’s block hits! I’m going to come back to this post when I’m stuck and am going to use this for my kiddos as well. Thanks! There are lots of stories in these lists I’m sure 🙂

    Like

  2. Writer’s block is a scary place to be, but I think as teachers, we need to experience it. Reading over your list, I noticed so many ideas ripe with opportunity. Like hanging out in coffee shops and bookstores, and your garden.

    Like

Leave a Reply

