DAY 31 SOLSC: Last Slice

“What should I write my last story about, Lily?”

Without hesitating, Lily replied, “A girl who finds a dragon–or did you write that one already?”

“No,” I answered, “not yet. Want to come in here in help me write it?”

“Well,” Lily said thoughtfully,  “I’m making a necklace right now, but if you’re stuck I’d be glad to help.”

“Okay. Thanks Lily.”

“That’s what you do when you’re in a family,” Lily said, as she threaded a piece of yarn through a wooden bead.

So true, Lily. So true.

I thought for a few minutes. Then called, “Lily, I’m still stuck. Will you help me?”

“Okay,” she said reluctantly. She stood next to me at my desk. “What do you have so far?”

“Not much. Just a title What should I write next?”

A Girl Who Finds A Dragon

by Lily & Me

Once upon a time there was a girl named Ellie who loves dragons. One day when Ellie was hiking she found a huge cave. 

“Okay, mommy, I’m done helping now. It’s your story. You have to finish it.”

 

sliceoflife
Join my coauthors and I at Two Writing Teachers for the March Slice of Life Story Challenge!
7 thoughts on “DAY 31 SOLSC: Last Slice

  1. What a clever picture book this could turn into! I think an illustrator would have a blast! I love the way you leave us hanging–it makes me want to write that story about Ellie who finds a dragon.

    Like

  2. This was a lovely, clever, and laugh out loud slice for me. I love her “enthusiasm” to help. Kind of a, sorry, not sorry moment at the end there. So funny. She’s got things to do mom! I’m happy you called her in, needed or not, feeling needed is empowering and I think that was a nice moment for her. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

