Day 26: Not Ready Yet

In school, I am always teaching kids and teachers strategies for how to get ideas when they are stuck. “Think of first times, and last times,” I often say. “Make a list of people, places, and things that are important to you.” “Draw a map of a place where you spend a lot of time, and label the memories on the map as they come to you.”

Today I am stuck with a little bit of writers block. I have plenty to write about–that is not really the problem. I’ve been sitting here in my living room, generating story after story. The problem is that after a page or two of every story, I start to think about hitting “Publish” and I just keep deciding that I’m not ready yet.

I think that every writer probably has those days.

Not ready to share that unflattering story involving someone you care about?

Not ready yet.

That story about the mistake you made?

Not ready yet!

The story about a health problem?

Nope, definitely not ready yet.

Birth stories in general.

Not ready.

I know that in classrooms, teachers ask me often about what to do for students who are stuck for ideas. I’ve written about it often, like in this post here. I often respond that it’s not that kids don’t have ideas — it’s just that writing is risky.

Today I’m feeling it myself.

5 thoughts on “Day 26: Not Ready Yet

  1. So true! I’ve even deleted entire comments because I didn’t think I was ready to “share”. Those risky posts stay on the unpublished side of my blog also.

    Like

  2. I had the same issue tonight. But it wasn’t because the story wasn’t ready yet, I just didn’t have a story. I think that this is just part of the writing process.

    Like

Leave a comment