2018 SOLSC Day 5: Indie Sleeps

Indie Sleeps

 

My dog, Indie,

Is a noisy sleeper.

Always has been,

but even more so in his old age.

He groans,

Sighs,

Sometimes whimpers or woofs.

From time to time his jaw chatters.

Sometimes Indie sleeps

With all four legs out straight

Like he’s playing dead

Sometimes he curls up

Into a small furry ball

Other times he drapes his little body

Across my ankles

While I sleep.

 

slice-of-life_individual
Join my colleagues and I at Two Writing Teachers for the March Slice of Life Story Challenge!

7 thoughts on “2018 SOLSC Day 5: Indie Sleeps

  1. Enjoyed this, Beth. I could visualize all of it! I like to watch my dogs sleep as well. Wonderful that you appealed to two senses … loved all the sounds he makes. I could feel the love.

    Like

  2. Such a lovely piece. I thought of my own old dog and how she sleeps now. The strong images helped me visualize Indie, and your tone captures the bittersweet of a beloved pet’s old age. (My own old dog is 13!)

    Like

Leave a comment