Day 19 Slice of Life Story Challenge: Skiing

This is how I like to ski. *
This is how I like to ski. *
This is how Brinton likes to ski. *
This is how Brinton likes to ski. *

Brinton and I stopped at the top of the trail. The wind whispered through the ear vents of my ski helmet. My feet were slightly numb.

“That looks super icy,” I said, thinking about how much it would hurt if I fell on the hardpacked snow. “It’s not even fun when it’s icy like this,” I whined.

“Oh come on. It’s fun if you’re going fast!” Brinton’s eyes twinkled.

This was the difference between us in a nutshell. I like skiing soft bumpy trails, the woods, trails with obstacles. Brinton likes steep, groomed, and fast.

Brinton’s skis scraped across a patch of ice, and whoosh, off he went.

A momentary wave of annoyance washed over me, then I too went whoosh across the ice.

I took the first few turns cautiously. I let my skis slide a little, so that I wouldn’t pick up too much speed. It’s fun if you’re going fast.

I headed into my fourth turn and put a little more weight on my downhill edge. With this, I was pulled little faster down the trail. Another turn, another, faster, faster…

Suddenly, I spun around, my left ski popped off, and I was on the ground, flying down the icy trail on my stomach, my ejected ski left behind. I used my arms as brakes, my whole body dragging across the steep and slippery ice.

Finally I came to a stop.

Amazingly, nothing was hurt. I was out of breath. I was shaky. But unhurt.

Brinton was long gone. I was alone. No one saw.

I climbed back up the trail. Popped my ski back on.

I looked down what was left of the steep and icy trail.

This time, I took my turns wide and slow. It is not always more fun if you’re going fast.

sliceoflife

* That is not my husband, nor I in those photos. Credit to skimaven.com (above), and Outside Online (below).

2 thoughts on “Day 19 Slice of Life Story Challenge: Skiing

  1. Oh boy – you were brave to give it a whirl. I skied once, disastrously, and have never tried again. But I see that you have such fun with Lily on the slopes – a family pat time. Lovely.

    Like

Leave a comment